Stitch of the Week 1: Fly Stitch

*crack!* That’s the starting gun for our TAST marathon! Let the fun begin!

Here is the SharonB’s Stitch Dictionary page with instructions for Fly Stitch. Last year I thought this was a good stitch with which to begin, and I still do!

Here are all the fly stitch variations listed on that page (for your convenience, listed here to open in a new window)

Here’s what she wrote for TAST 2012 Week 1: Fly Stitch

Edited in: Stitch inspiration! Brought to my attention by Kathleen, holly and evergreens from Mary Corbett’s Needle n’ Thread website  http://www.needlenthread.com/2012/12/stitch-play-embroidered-greenery.html  &  http://www.needlenthread.com/2012/12/stitch-play-simple-greenery-part-2.html Also the featured stitchers from 2012 at PinTangle http://pintangle.com/2012/01/08/tast-week-1-highlights

You may also post your link to your Fly Stitch pictures in THIS comment section, no matter when you get it done… AND…

If you are following this blog, you’ll have a bonus benefit!

If you miss a stitch but then are able to work it later, you can choose to put your link on the matching Stitch of the Week post (as well as the TAST comments, link above).  Each week, I will round up ALL NEW stitch LINKS entered at this blog, whether they are from the current stitch or a past one. Yours won’t be lost back there on the old Stitch of the Week post. I will put them up Monday (noon-ish PST) in a weekly recap post, about 12 hours before I put up the Stitch of the Week.

Of course, I will be putting my TAST 2012 Re-run stitches right here on this blog, because that’s why I started it in the first place 🙂

Happy Stitching!

Gail

6 thoughts on “Stitch of the Week 1: Fly Stitch

  1. Linda Pouliot

    Thank yo so much…This is just what I need…I will be able to follow this format…I plan on doing a stitch sampler and a small crazy quilt…

    Reply
  2. gailllc Post author

    Oh good, Linda! I am glad the format will work for you. I plan on having the Stitch of the Week posts ALL look like this — I found the navigating at pintangle OK but slightly frustrating, so I thought hard about this!

    Reply
  3. kathysnest32

    I finished ( I think, I might add more) to the block I am making for the CQ Color and Composition Class. I used the fly stitch three times in this block. Please see a picture at http://kathysnest32.wordpress.com/2013/01/17/cq-color-and-composition-1-tast-re-run/
    Please leave a comment and tell me what you would do different on this block. That way I can improve my sewing techniques. If you double click on the block a better picture will be shown.

    Reply
  4. Gail

    I can’t tell you what to do better — I am learning from YOU! LOL Stitch selection and combinations are where I totally lack confidence. I know I like what you did, especially the sequin flowers!

    Reply
  5. kathysnest32

    How are your feeling? Better I hope. I’m pulling out an old block I made last year to sew and embellish the next stitch. Cannot wait till Tomorrow. I might have to start on it tonight. The stitch of the week is BUTTONHOLE.

    Reply
    1. gailllc Post author

      Shhh, Kathy, you are spilling the beans! 😉 Yes I am feeling better, but my son and I both are still sleeping a lot. It seems that’s what we each do to recover from viruses. Thank you for asking! Because of that and a few things, I am just now (on Sunday evening) finishing up my stitching varieties for Fly Stitch. Pictures will be up midday tomorrow. Remember that my samples are going to be modest! –Gail

Leave a Reply -- Leave a Link to Your Stitching Photos -- Leave Cheers and Applause

